Advice from Photo Guru Jay Maisel for this month’s challenge

Every Wednesday there is a notable guest blogger at Scott Kelby’s site; not that Mr. Kelby isn’t enough M,T,T,F, mind you.  Today’s entry is from Jay Maisel, professional photography guru. 

In the post Mr. Maisel states something that is at the core of this month’s challenge…in Mr. Maisel’s words:

…I’ve taught over a hundred weeklong workshops. Part of why I do them is that it keeps me sharp. I can’t be telling people what to do with out learning something myself. I evolve as I teach, and the things I ask students to do has changed and become simplified over the years. Today one of the things I try to get across to a class is so simple, but for some it’s hard to grasp. It is so obvious and yet not easy to do. I demand that they enjoy themselves and my advice is just move on to something else if that’s not happening. After all the whole point of this is to have fun. If you ain’t enjoying it why bother? I explain to them that if they’re not excited by what they’re shooting I’ll know and so will everyone else. I even wrote this poem to make the point:

If it doesn’t excite you,
This thing that you see,
Why in the world,
Would it excite me?

That is it exactly…don’t stress, have fun,  but say something!

Please read the whole article by visiting Scottkelby.com

Jay Maisel hosts many workshops; for more information please visit http://www.jaymaisel.com/

One thought on “Advice from Photo Guru Jay Maisel for this month’s challenge

  1. Great site this shrewshutters.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

Leave a Reply

