Guest Shutter – Renae’s Little Ariel

You can almost hear her can’t you?

6 thoughts on “Guest Shutter – Renae’s Little Ariel

  1. This is fantastic!! 🙂
    I love the close-up shots, and that little one looks sooooo cute in the finished product!
    (Can I just mention how jealous I am that you can sew?!!! My abilities with the machine would make a seamstress cringe! I was attempting to make a simple doll quilt about a year ago, and the material kept getting jammed in the machine…I swore the machine was broken and refused to use it until I was forced to make something for school for my daughter—(I did the entire quilt by hand mind you.) So I tried the machine again, realizing as I threaded it, that “I’ve never done THAT step before…huh?!” Yes…the machine wasn’t broken…it’s just that the user was an idiot. I was skipping a threading step! Pathetic!)

    Now back to the photos….love the colors captured in the material shot. I think my favorite is the close-up photo of the needle thingy with Ariel in the background. Beautiful!

  2. Life is not fair when someone can both sew AND take great photos.

    Renae this is VERY well done and well thought out. The macro shots of the pin and the tape measure are FANTASTIC, but then I’m a macro girl at heart. And I agree with KD that the shot of the machine with the Ariel doll blurred in the background is also brilliant in telling the story. The end product is priceless.

    Excellent job Renae!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Renae gave me a little preview of her shots the other day, but I am still just as impressed seeing them today. I also love the material shot and the Ariel in the background. I enjoy doing a little sewing of quilts myself, but Renae’s skill far outshines mine and I am fairly clueless when it comes to using a pattern!
    Mini-Renae looks very pleased with the final product – I hope it still fits her come Halloween!

  4. Renae, awesome job!! Since I too am a macro girl, my favorites are the tape measure and the pin shot. I am likewise equally in awe of your sewing abilities. My mom gave me a sewing machine some months ago, and it is still in the box because I am afraid to open it and not be able to figure out how to use it properly. (On the other hand, I have no qualms whatsoever about attempting to give my mom’s car a tune-up or replace my car’s brakes.)

    Your little girl looks so adorable! I think she’s way prettier than Ariel. 🙂

  5. You peeps are too kind…thanks!

    KD, you are cracking me up…I guess if you are calling machine parts “needle thingy” then yeah, you might run into a few sewing problems here and there! LOL!!

    I am still not 100% pleased with the final two shots, but toddlers don’t cooperate and it was the best I could do.

    BTW, karmardav made “my little Ariel” a beautiful butterfly quilt for Christmas that she INSISTS on sleeping with every night. If I can’t find that quilt, all hell breaks loose.

Leave a Reply

