Channeling P’Dub Again…

If P’Dub is channeling Ethel Merman what does that make me? Carol Channing?

Alright, who is Ann Miller? Step up…c’mon KD I know you flip your hair like that. I KNOW Music Maven is Della with all dat sass.

Anyway…

These Joisey Horses tempted me to post them again!

Personally, I like the brown one better here, but I maybe tender towards it since it reminds me of Snuffy, the sweetest horse evah! Am I biased or does the brown horse picture look better?

I will be traveling until Friday…hopefully I will be able to post tomorrow night, but I have no idea what the Deerfield Embassy Suites has in the way of broadband.

ETA: Took all your suggestions and recropped…does this help Speckly?

IvoryHut’s take…

I think we may be working too hard for it…what is the old saying…”No amount of photoshop will make up for poor photography”

17 thoughts on “Channeling P’Dub Again…

  1. Shrew. I. Live. Five. Minutes. From. The. Deerfield. Embassy. Suites…. REALLY!
    Don’t you have time for a 10-minute cup of coffee with your buddy brc? We can bring our cameras and call it a SMSGDT (Super-Mini Shrew’s Gourmet Dive Tour) ๐Ÿ™‚ You just have to promise not to take a picture of me.

    This week is crazy, but I know I can find time for a coffee. I will email you my cell phone. CALL ME!

    Okay now back to the horses. The brown one is better in my opinion. The color contrasts nicely with the background, the light strikes his head just right, and he looks beautiful. The other one blends in so much with the background and, while I like the action, his position is a little odd.

  2. Oops I meant to say also that the DOF on the brown horse is fantastic. Can you see how it’s all blurry in the foreground and the background but the focus is perfect on the horse?

  3. That’s what I was struggling with brc…I kept trying to work with the speckle horse picture to make the horse stand out more. NOW, I must admit the SOOC Brown horse was tac sharp from foreground through the trees so I used a making filter to super sharp the horse and blur all else.

    Hmmm…I wonder if I over expose speckle…hmmm.

    PS- MM I KNOW you are “touched”

  4. Can you Photoshop just the background on the Speckled horse to make it darker or a different color? Even so, I think his head position would still bug me.

  5. I am loving the brown horse photo the best….the blue of the sky in the other is such a nice contrast though. Hmmmm….If only the speckled horse wasn’t so camouflaged. Yeah, and the head position is a bit strange. Looks like he’s gagging up a hair ball.

    brc—gotta have a bagel with that coffee. Friendships with Shrew start that way. It’s the rule, right Shrew? ๐Ÿ˜‰
    And by the way, I am NOT going to step up that channeling challenge! I may have flipped my hair once upon a time, but not my wig! ๐Ÿ˜‰ (And did anyone else think…Carol Channeling? Or am I the only one amusing myself quite this much?) ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I do like the brown horse photo. It has a more classic look to me. But for some reason, I am more drawn to the speckled horse photo. Maybe it’s partly because I’ve always preferred white horses (the first horse I ever rode was white). But it also has a unique feel to it. Almost like a film still from LOTR or something. I don’t know, but the “tension” in the photo is what makes it appealing to me.

    Shrew, I agree that maybe increasing the exposure difference between speckled horse and the background would make it stand out more. I wonder if a light Lensbaby effect might work too. Or maybe black and white with slight blue tones?

  7. Renae, how could you comment on this site and not mention the horses? You are such the horse – woman! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Ok, I know you guys will think this is just me being B&W photo prejudiced, but I don’t think turning speckly B&W helped this photo. If anything I think it made him blend in more – crop it more and it could be one of brc’s abstracts! ๐Ÿ™‚ I think maybe adding some green grass, via photoshop, would help speckly stand out more.

  8. I’m still trying to figure out where the Julie reference came from. This SDJ issue of mine has me all lost.

    I’ll be late to the party and say just from the original SOOC shot, I like the brown one.

  9. โ€No amount of photoshop will make up for poor photographyโ€…I think these horse models just weren’t cooperating. I think if Speckly was looking toward the camera it would make the shot more intersting.

Leave a Reply

