Guest Shutter – Sherweld showing how it’s done

Today, Sherweld, who has a deeper understanding of Photoshop, design and photography than I do, sent along a few of his shots that he used Kelby’s 7 Point System. Sherweld…I hope you don’t mind me sharing these, but they are absolutely magical.

Sherweld wrote:

My copy just arrived, and I’m just starting to work through it. Looks as good as you say. Below are some shots worked over with some of the stuff I had picked up BSP (before 7 points)

The first pic is this afternoon out the back door looking East toward Seattle (see, it doesn’t always rain in Washington)
1-0711_shreweld_001.jpg

#2 This morning out the back door
2-0711_shreweld_002.jpg

#3 a Blue Heron last fall
4-0612_shreweld_004.jpg

#4 Dahlias (PS’d with the “Orton Effect”)
5-0708_shreweld_005.jpg

#5 Some leaves with another PS trick
6-0711_shreweld_006.jpg

#6 A scene I took in Western Mass. last fall (Ortonized)

7-0610_shreweld_003.jpg

These are amazing. And it is nice to see the 7Point System in hands of someone with such obvious advanced skills.

Thank you, Sherweld, for sharing these!

6 thoughts on “Guest Shutter – Sherweld showing how it’s done

  1. These are stunning. Is this really the view out your back door? Whatever the “orton” effect is, I love it.

    Also… are these photos done using 7-point? Sherweld’s comment gives me the impression they were using techniques learned before reading 7-point. Sherweld can you clarify?

  2. You folks give me far too much credit, but thank you anyway.

    Yes, really out my back door, life is very sweet, and after I finished chapter one in 7 points, I am almost embarrassed I sent those, I think I can do much better.

    Yes, done before 7 point, and for whatever it’s worth I added a book review today, here http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0321501926/104-7172715-0188719 which I hope will make it clear that it would be difficult for me to overstate the value of the book in learning what PS can do.

    Orton Effect; on the web it’s possible to find a ton of techniques for PS, the only trouble is deciding which ones to use where. Here’s a couple of links http://www.pcin.net/update/2006/11/01/the-orton-effect-digital-photography-tip-of-the-week/ , http://www.adobe.com/devnet/fireworks/articles/photo_effects_02.html . There’s other variations, just google. It doesn’t work well on everything, and can be overdone, but it’s fun to play with.

    Sherweld …. 8-))

  3. Um… embarrassed? These photos AS THEY ARE merit framing and displaying. And if you think you can make them even better with 7-point, will you share that when you try? Hard to imagine they could look any better.

    Thanks for the links.

  4. Me likey the Ortonizing! Thanks for sharing, Sherweld. I am partial to the Western Mass shot, of course. What was the PS trick on the leaves? It’s a nice shot, but I think the red is just a tad oversaturated. Or is that part of the effect?

  5. Okay, so not only am I green with envy over your photography skills, but I’m also green over your view! 🙂 So inviting!
    I must admit though, that the more skilled all of you become, the more I want to crawl into my private little hole of inexperience. Feeling WAY out of my league in such company!!
    However, instead of hiding, I will work on my skills. (Somehow I hear Napolean Dynamite’s tone of voice when I say “skills.”) *laugh*
    Beautiful! Thanks to all of you for daily inspiration. 🙂

  6. Sherweld, I too am suffering view-envy here. You have that vista right outside your back door? I’d probably never leave home for the first two, maybe three months. Seven, tops. Then I’d need some food.

    I really like the heron shot. Nice blend of photo and painting/art. But that Orton effect on the Western Mass shot is simply dreamy. I took some shots of the river nearby, and I can’t wait to try that on those photos.

    Just got my 7 Point System book yesterday (finally!) so I’m itching to play. I’m sure I’ll get a bunch of cuts and scrapes, ’cause I’m impatient and clumsy, but I am also sure it’ll be loads of fun.

Leave a Reply

