Where They Be?

where-they-be-1-of-1.jpg

Why in NYC City!

Full report to come.

12 thoughts on “Where They Be?

  1. Thanks for the link Jen. He’s recommending the Nikon D40. I was seriously considering that camera until I read in several places that the lenses for the D40 are not interchangeable with other Nikon equipment. Given how expensive lenses are, along with the fact that lenses will last longer than the camera itself, it would be a shame to invest in lenses that won’t outlive the camera. That said, it might be worth it given the price and the fact that it comes with a nice lens.

  2. I have a Nikon D40—it being my very first “real” camera, I love it. I still have to learn more about it’s capabilities, but it’s doing what I need it to do.

  3. Holy cow Shrew. Scott has a picture of the convention hall on his website before it opened this morning. I sure hope you and Ivory didn’t get stuck way in the back. That’s one big place!!!

    Hope you had a great time and learned a lot!!!

  4. After following Ken Rockwell’s website for quite awhile, I have noted that although he is considered very controversial in some circles, he has a ton of information and opinions on his site, and in my humble opinion he is pretty much on the mark and well worth reading. (although he can come across as being a bit full of himself at times, he does make a great deal of sense)

    Re the Nikon D40, I have one, and like it very much. It is a big step up to a dSLR from anything less. I also have a Canon Kiss X (XTi) which I also like a great deal. However, if I was considering a Nikon D40-X, for about the same price I think I would opt for the XTi, but it would still be a hard choice between the D40 and the XTi. They are both very fine cameras, but I find that I use the Canon slightly more often because I can set the saturation somewhat higher, and that suits my picture style.

  5. Sherweld, thanks for that input. After getting a chance to snap a few photos using Shrew’s Canon 40D yesterday, I can’t wait to get a DSLR.

    Costco is selling kits for both the Nikon D40x and the Rebel xTi. I think I mentioned it here before that the price for both is pretty much the same (around $950), and the difference is that the Nikon comes with two lenses – an 18-55mm and a 75-200mm, both VR lenses. The Canon comes with an 18-55mm and a 75-300mm, but not IS lenses.

    But then, I have old lenses here that I’d like to use. I have a 50mm f1.2 that I’d love to use as a portrait lens, and I think I’ll be able to use it with a Canon but not a Nikon.

    Sigh. What to do, what to do.

  6. Bonus!
    If that f1.2 is a Canon lens or at least for a Canon SLR, it may well work, but I wouldn’t care to guess about whether auto focus or auto exposure works. I believe Nikon has a better track record of lens compatibility thru camera evolutions. Suggest you try the lens on another camera to be sure before you decide. If it is a quality lens which will work on a Canon DSLR, it may well be worth more than the XTi. I have an old Nikon 50mm which I must operate manually, but it works well when I have a use for it.

    From what you say, since you are starting somewhat fresh, my rule number one would be to pick a brand for whatever reason and stay with it. (My dilemma is that right after I got my Nikon, my Son-in-Law gave me an XTi with a very spiffy lens, so my quandary has multiplied considerably) But I digress …. If for example your close friends have a particular brand, you then could swap special purpose lenses, or flashes etc. for special events. If, as you say you have some old gear which would work fairly well on your new camera, that factor would weigh very heavily in my book.

    I would agree totally that stabilized lenses are very important, but the XTi can be purchased body only, then you can be very picky about what lens you add. I got this one on ebay for less than a hundred including shipping.( http://www.kenrockwell.com/canon/lenses/18-55-efs-ii.htm )

    Good luck whatever you decide … keep us posted.

Leave a Reply

